Marking of two corridors on SDBZ completed

28 Mar 2018

Marking of two corridors on SDBZ completed

The African Union Border Programme Technical Team (AUBP-TT) together with the Joint Technical Border Corridor Committee (JTBCC), with support from the United Nations Interim Security Force for Abyei (UNISFA) and United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) completed the marking of two out of the four crossing points of the Safe Demilitarized Buffer Zone (SDBZ) between Sudan and South Sudan on 19 to 23 March 2018.


The marking of crossing points was completed at the Heglig-Bentiu and Al Sumayyah corridors. The Team marked the entry and exit points of the northern and southern limits of the SDBZ. However, only the North outer limit point was marked at the third crossing point, Kosti Renk, as the Team was denied access to the Southern part by the South Sudanese governor of the area. The Team needed clarification for the fourth crossing point at the El Rodom el Buram-Tumasaha-Raja.


Before the actual corridor marking, the AUBPP-TT met in Khartoum, Sudan on 07 and 09 March 2018 for a joint planning workshop to develop an operation work plan for field expeditions in marking the SDBZ. During the workshop, the technical team identified and detailed the role and responsibility of each stakeholder in the fieldwork; and ensured that all stakeholders have the same understanding of what and how work would be organized and undertaken.


The process of determining the SDBZ recommenced in March 2018. The completion of the two markings was a result of continuous dialogues and consultations among parties. There are 10 crossing points identified on the SDBZ.


In June 2013, the African Union High Implementation Panel (AUHIP) on Sudan and South Sudan made two proposals to resolve security issues between the two countries. The proposals were aimed at determining the SBDZ to be monitored by the UN.